Photography: Cinematography inspiration.

To understand the techniques used in cinematography it’s essential for me to look into existing advertisements made by cinematographers for inspiration. Most cinematic videos based on advertising, music videos and portfolio work are dependent on specific camera shots. In post-production the footage is then colour graded using RBG curves which affects the darkness and the highlights of the footage.Three-way colour corrector can also be applied in Premiere which focuses on the shadows, mid-tones and highlights. For the cinematic look, using only the shadows and highlights will boost the mood of our footage. Most cinematic adverts captivate us through the motion of the video and through the colours.

The first cinematography advertisement I came across was by Chanel – Le Film directed by Baz Luhrmann, who directed Romeo and Juliet (1996).

By watching this advertisement for Chanel I feel that I have gained a lot of inspiration through the different camera shots used. Most of the camera techniques used focus on a soft slow zoom. This technique is used commonly in every film as it draws it’s viewers into a certain subject in the frame which is important. For example, the first couple of camera shots in Chanel at the start slightly moves to the left for us to focus our attention to the character. The Chanel Le Film had a high budget to create the advertisement since most of the camera equipment possibly had sliders and steady camera rigs for a smooth motion. For my promotional advertisement for Jean Paul Gaultier I’m working with a low budget, but some camera shots can be done in the same way. For one of my technical camera shots I gained inspiration from two different movies, “Spectre and Final Destination 3D”. As you can see below I found some examples to help me pull off this camera shot for my advert, considering I am completely new to this technical shot. Final Destination 4 is a good example as the camera shot zooms right into the character’s eye and back out. (Skip to 2:38).

007 Spectre, (skip to 3:20).

 

 

Leave a comment